Travel NSW logo Travel NSW - accommodation and visitor guide
Home Regions, cities and towns of NSW Accommodation search Information about NSW
Home > Regions > Snowy Mountains

Snowy Mountains map:

Tumut Jindabyne Cooma Snowy Mountains region map


The Snowy Mountains region is located near the south-eastern corner of New South Wales, encompassing the state's highest mountain ranges and ski fields.

Bordering the Australian Capital Territory, the region extends from Tumut southwards through to Lake Eucumbene which is the state's largest made-made reservoir. The region continues south to the holiday resort town of Jindabyne, located on the shores of Lake Jindabyne, and down to the state border with Victoria.

Around one-third of the Snowy Mountains region is covered by the Kosciuszko National Park. At almost 700,000 hectares in size, this park is home to a multitude of natural attractions including Mount Kosciuszko which is Australia's highest peak, several large lakes and beautiful waterways including the Snowy River.

The four ski resorts in the Snowy Mountains are Thredbo, Perisher, Charlotte Pass and Selwyn Snowfields, all usually offering good snow conditions between June and October.

During the summer, the Snowy Mountains are an ideal destination for scenic mountain drives, horse riding, mountain bike riding, boating, fishing and bush walking.

Snowy Mountains destinations:

Cooma Cooma
Major town at eastern gateway to Snowy Mountains
Jindabyne Jindabyne
Resort town on Lake Jindabyne, close to snow fields
Tumut Tumut
Attractive rural town on Tumut River in the Snowy Mountains foothills

About us - Contact us - Privacy - Terms of use
© 2022. Travel NSW - - New South Wales, Australia